Showing posts with label fitness. Show all posts
Showing posts with label fitness. Show all posts

Thursday, April 4, 2013

A Little Late to the Party...

Although mentally I am in Spring mode, there's one area where I just can't seem to beat Mother Nature. Fitness. She is killing me! I kept procrastinating signing up for Tina's Best Body Bootcamp because I thought for sure the weather would warm up and I'd want to run outside. So not the case. Ugh.

Last year at this time, I was starting to seriously train for the half-marathon and J and I were loving running outside in the morning. Nowadays, I check my phone at night to see what the weather will be at 6 am, hoping we'll be able to get out there and run. And this is what I see...


And that's warm compared to most mornings this week...28 degrees has been what I typically see at 6 am. No thanks! And then what do I do? Hit snooze for another hour. 

So something needs to change. Quick too. So I did it. I signed myself up for Tina's Best Body Bootcamp which actually started this past Monday. Thankfully, Tina's allowing people to sign up late for an extra $10. I'll take it! $35 total is still such a deal.


I finally got myself to the gym last night too. Between being out of shape AND a gym that's about 80 degrees some nights, I was dying. Proof.

Woof. Hello sweaty betty. (love my new TNF tank!)

So it's happening. This girl is going to get her act together and toning up. The thought that my Spring and Summer clothes could be a little tight is certainly motivation!

Oh and another way we're getting healthy over here...my Vitamix! Oh my gosh, I am soo on board with every other Vitamix owner now. Totally worth it. Yes my blender and magic bullet were fine for simple smoothies but how about adding raw oats, carrots, almonds, or whole apples? Can't even tell! We are definitely taking in more servings of fruits and veggies daily thanks to the best birthday present ever!

Post-workout smoothie: Almond milk, water, banana, peanut butter, spinach, oatmeal, chia seeds, vanilla protein powder. 

What's your motivation to get in shape? Beyond just staying healthy, I gotta say...knowing my arms and legs will be much more visible once the weather warms up definitely gets me moving!

If you like this post please let me know by leaving a comment or liking my Facebook page. You can also follow along on TwitterPinterest, and Instagram. Let's stay in touch!


Thursday, March 21, 2013

Fitness: Back to Basics

It's no secret that I was in way better shape last year. I was more motivated, I was eating healthier, and I really enjoyed working out on a regular basis. But this year is just different. We had close to zero snow in Boston last year and were able to run outside well into December and pick right back up by March. Right now? There's a layer of ice on the sidewalks, a layer of frozen snow on my car, and it's close to freezing outside. Talk about no motivation!

So, what am I getting at? Ah, yes. I need to get my act together. And man is the treadmill brutal right now! So I need to slow down and take it little by little. One exercise I really enjoyed back during Best Body Bootcamp was treadmill intervals. I had honestly never attempted intervals before then! So when I got on the treadmill last night, I knew exactly what I needed to do if I wanted to keep myself going for 30 minutes. Intervals. And this particular interval set gives me comfort that my ability to run a 5k road race is not out of the realm of possibility.


I've intentionally left speed off of this interval because it's totally up to you. I try to push myself during the run to an 8-9 out of 10, and take the jog down to a 5-6 out of 10 in difficulty. Bringing my fitness back to basics, I ran these intervals at a slower pace than I was running a few months ago. But I didn't let myself get frustrated, just happy I actually made it to the gym!

Praying this snow in Boston ends soon though so I can get outside for a run. You just can't beat running outside.

How about you, how do you stay motivated to workout in the winter?

Knowing we'll be on the beach next month has certainly made me motivated recently!


If you like this post please let me know by leaving a comment or liking my Facebook page. You can also follow along on TwitterPinterest, and Instagram. Let's stay in touch!

Tuesday, March 19, 2013

Travel: Countdown to Florida

The weather here in Boston has taken a turn back towards winter. I don't get it. Tomorrow is the first day of Spring. Whyyy is it snowing today?!

I saw this photo on pinterest and thought most of us in the Northeast are definitely feeling this way right about now.

image source unknown

The weather was so nice here a couple of weeks ago, and it just seemed like winter had ended. Not so much though. Boo.

Last week, when I finally made it to the gym one morning, I realized that our trip to Florida is coming up quick! Thank god. Start the lunges, squats, push ups and planks. What I would give to be on a beach right now. But 4 weeks really will fly by so I can't complain. This is how I feel right now -

image source unknown

I'm in need of something calming. And a day at the beach sounds splendid. How about you? What's your ideal way to relax? I keep telling myself to get to a hot yoga class because I know I will feel incredibly relaxed after that. Just need to fit it into my schedule these days.

Anyone know of a yoga studio in Boston you'd recommend? I haven't been in far too long.

I've been following FitFluential on Twitter for quite some time now, and the CEO Kelly Olexa started following me on Instagram (@talkative_tlc) yesterday after my exercise photo! Ah! Guess I should use that as motivation to get moving!

Current countdown to FL: 30 days!

If you like this post please let me know by leaving a comment or liking my Facebook page. You can also follow along on TwitterPinterest, and Instagram. Let's stay in touch!


Thursday, December 6, 2012

Bootcamp Still Going Strong

I can't believe there is only one more week to the Best Body Bootcamp I participated in. I know I've said this before, but I've REALLY enjoyed it. I've definitely slacked off lately which is beyond frustrating to me but the workouts are so adaptable so I've been able to get a lot done in the comforts of our home.


J & I decided to take advantage of the warm weather Monday afternoon and headed out for a run. We haven't ran since our Thanksgiving 5k so I wasn't planning to push it too much, just a couple easy miles. Once we hit the road though, we felt good and decided to extend our run around Castle Island - something I fear/hate when I'm not in shape. I was so surprised at how great I felt! And then I remembered a saying from SkinnyRunner...."it should not be comfortable." Yup, it was time to push myself. Dig deep and book it home. We didn't say another word on the mile home as we both pushed it. And guess what, it felt even better. It felt so good to dig deep and push myself. I can really tell a difference in my strength from this bootcamp. And the best part, J can too. Yup, having your hubby tell you your legs are definitely stronger was quite nice.

All that is to say, sign up for the next one with me! Tina has opened up registration for her next round of bootcamp. Registration is open until 12/31, still only $25. What a steal. Bootcamp starts January 7th. Think you can hack it?



PS - Looking for some new gym clothes? Check out this post. I am totally tempted.

Thursday, November 8, 2012

Best Body Bootcamp: Week 3

I am still loving this bootcamp! Yes, there have been a few times that I've had a really hard time getting my booty out of bed in the morning but instead I've gone to the gym at night twice this week. That may be a record.


Word of advice - going to the gym while the election polls are running is a great idea. Hardly anyone there and you can distract yourself by watching the results! I'm so smart.

Tuesdays workout was one of my favorites so far. Instead of 40 minutes of steady cardio, this week's cardio days incorporate intervals. But instead of doing quick one minute or 30 second intervals, this one had you working at an intensity of 8 (out of 10) for 5 minutes, then recover, 7 minutes, recover, and finally 10 minutes. I would have never thought about taking small recovery breaks on the treadmill before. And it made a huge difference in my workout. I pushed myself harder during the running intervals knowing I had a 3 minutes of recovery coming up. Recovery intervals were at an intensity of 6. My workout looked a little something like this:

  • 5 minute warm up - walking at a 5.0 incline at 4.0 mph
  • 5 minute run at 7.0
  • 3 minute recovery at 6.5
  • 7 minute run at 7.0
  • 3 minute recovery at 6.5
  • 10 minute run ladder starting at 6.8 increase every minute up to 7.2 and then back down
  • cool down starting at 6.8 decreasing by .2 every minute until stopping at 6.2 and 4 miles total
I really think if I had just jumped on the treadmill and attempted 4 miles I wouldn't have made it. I felt GREAT after this workout.

My workout today will look very similar. And since I'm writing this Wednesday night....hopefully by the time you read this my workout will be finished!

And I'll look like this. A sweaty mess.


Happy Thursday!

Thursday, November 1, 2012

Best Body Bootcamp: Week 2


Still going strong. More like, still getting strong!

Week 2 is going great. Better than Week 1 actually. I'm really not sure what happened last week but I found myself getting very lightheaded, very quickly. It was strange and frustrating, but I also knew I needed to listen to my body. I didn't push it too hard and used a lighter weight than I may normally so that I could finish the sets.

This week, I've increased the weight a little and speeded up my interval workouts. That was tough! But so worth it. It feels so great to be working out hard again.

I decided to write down my measurements to see if there are any differences at the end of the 8 weeks. No I will NOT be sharing those numbers. But I do intend to share my results at the end. Sound good? Good.

Like I mentioned last week, the Best Body Bootcamp switches up the workouts everyday to include various supersets, cardio intervals, steady cardio, planks, and full body unilateral workouts. I'm not going to share too many details because well I did pay for this session. And it wouldn't be fair to Tina now would it?

But I will say, if ANY of you can do this Scorpion move, well than I am EXTREMELY impressed! I should probably tape myself attempting this one to give you all a good laugh. I have no core strength, which I knew, but at the same time was super surprised at how hard this move is for me.

The workouts change every two weeks so I'm eager to see what new moves I'll be attempting next week. Wish me luck!!





Thursday, October 25, 2012

Cleaning Up

In case you hadn't noticed, October went by a little too quickly. Seriously, I'm pretty sure we got back from Morocco like 2 weeks ago, no?

And somehow with the time flying, I also ended up taking 4 weeks off from any form of physical activity. I can't believe it. I know we've been busy but I really can't use that as an excuse. Working out just didn't happen.

I started contemplating an online bootcamp since reading a review of Fitmixer Bootcamp here. The last session was sold out so I joined the waiting list to hear about the next one. That e-mail came through 2 weeks ago. Phew!

And then, something else happened.....here. Yep, I've been following Julie's blog for a while and had read about her experience with the first 2 rounds of Best Body Bootcamp. I was definitely interested. Instead of trying my luck in her giveaway I went straight to the source. I decided that between the price difference and the fact that I really wasn't ready to give up meals for protein shakes, I would give Best Body Bootcamp a try first.


So that's it. It's time to clean my act up and get back to the gym. This week is the first week of bootcamp and I'm loving it. Well, I'm kind of hating it because 4 weeks of no strength training is kicking my a$$ right now. But I'm really excited to see where I end up in 8 weeks. Total beach babe for sure. :)

The workouts include supersets, interval workouts, steady cardio workouts, and plank intervals so far. This is my first time doing both supersets and intervals. The supersets are tough! Like I'm panting, sweating, heart racing kind of tough. But I am so determined to get strong. And J has been joining me for runs on the steady cardio days so I really can't complain.

Lastly, something that tends to go hand in hand for us is eating healthier when we're working out. Why ruin all your hard work?!

So thank you Julie & Tina for getting this girl back at it! I sure did need the motivation, and am so excited to see what the next 7 weeks bring!


Friday, June 1, 2012

Fun Fact Friday

Just keeping you in the loop with what's going on over here.

1. This weekend is my sister's bridal shower. It's being thrown at my parents' house & hosted by my mom, myself, and Jackie's bridesmaids. I cannot wait. I am so excited to see my extended family & friends and meet some of Adrian's. And I'm really happy my mom agreed to host it at her house. Although it's more work than renting a venue, I'm looking forward to the laid back feel a home shower brings. And I'm really excited about all the decisions we've made too! (which I'll fill you in about next week, post event).


2. This past weekend J was the best man in a friend's wedding and we had SO much fun. The bride & groom have the best family and friends and we made sure to celebrate all weekend long. Posts to come next week!

3. I've decided I need something to train for/ work for. While training for the half-marathon I had no problem getting up, at any hour, to make sure I got my workout in. In the two weeks since the race, I have totally relaxed my workouts, as in, I've hardly done anything. J, on the other hand, has been meeting up with a friend every morning to workout in a nearby park. Burpees, sprints, push ups, sit ups, you name it. And he's really enjoying it. Having someone to meet up with helps him stay on track. So, I've decided to start the Jamie Eason LiveFit 12-week Trainer. It's a 12-week strength training course that lays out your daily workouts for you (there is also a diet portion, but I won't be following that). Do you know how nice that is when you work out at 5:30 am? You mean I don't have to think of my own game plan for the gym?? Sign me up! Oh, and it's free which is great. Why not give it a try?



4. I've completed the first 3 days of the program and it's been great. Day 1 was chest and triceps and let me tell you, I am sore! My typical arm workout focuses on biceps and triceps. I close to never work my chest muscles. Day 1 included 72 pushups. Right?! Let me say that again, 72 pushups. 3 sets of 12 wide pushups and 3 sets of 12 narrow pushups. More than I've done in the past year, definitely. More than I've done in the past 2 years, probably. Day 2 was back and biceps. I'm curious how my back is going to feel by the end of today. It's not too sore yet, but maybe it's just being overshadowed by my chest muscles. If a sore chest means I won't have that fat bulge in strapless dresses this summer (you know what I'm talking about) then keep the pushups coming! This morning was legs & calves. I don't think I've done barbell squats since college. Yikes. If I'm walking funny by the end of today, you'll know why.  These legs were a bit shaky by the end of this workout.

5. Thursday morning I decided to try out a new breakfast for J & I. You know our love of overnight oatmeal, our typical breakfast at least twice a week. But yesterday morning I was in the mood for something else. I had bookmarked the Fitnessista's serious cereal recipe a few weeks ago. Since we typically use almond milk these days for our oatmeal, we don't always have regular old skim milk in our house. But my milk of choice for cold cereal is still dairy milk. So when our fridge had a fresh bottle of dairy milk and no soy or almond milk, I knew it was time to give this a go. Ummm....you have got to try this recipe! It's ridiculously easy and sooo good! I am craving it right now as I type this. It will definitely be making its way into our breakfast routine.

6. Speaking of food. J was reading an article last night that listed out the top reasons men breakup with women and vice versa. Apparently, one of the top reasons women breakup with men is because of diets that vary too much. Really?! I am very fortunate that J will eat just about anything I put in front of him. He is so willing to try all these new healthy recipes I'm currently digging and that means a lot to me. He finally caved and tried a Larabar yesterday and then texted me to tell me it was actually good. Ha! Told you so darling. :)

7. I hope you have a fabulous weekend! Get ready for next week, wedding posts all week long! Wahoo! Recaps from the amazing wedding we just went to, a recap of Jackie's shower, and a few great wedding detail posts. I hope you're excited.

Thursday, April 26, 2012

HM Training - Part 2

This past week J & I ran our second long run. Because of certain commitments, like a wedding last Saturday, and me heading to Charleston, SC this coming weekend, we've had to tweak our training plan. But all in all, I think we'll do just fine.

Instead of running a 10k for our long run last week and 11 miles this week, like Hal Higdon recommends in his Novice 2 training schedule, we switched it up. So after work last Friday night, J & I headed out on our 11 mile run. We decided to get the run done Friday night so that we could enjoy the wedding Saturday and not be sore/tired.

Unlike our first long run, this one was tougher. I don't know if it was because we ran after work versus first thing in the morning, or the fact that  I decided to eat BBQ for lunch with co-workers (very bad idea) but my body felt heavier and I was tired.

We definitely pushed through it. And the whole thing was a mental game between, do I want to beat my 10-mile pace even though I should be running slower, or do I want to slow things down?


The verdict: 11 miles in 1 hour, 47 minutes. Average pace of 9:46 min/mile.

I'd be lying if I said I wasn't a tiny bit bummed we didn't beat our 10 mile pace. BUT, I realize this is a much smarter pace. And I would hate to get injured or burn out before the race.

And, as much as I'd love to say I was ready for more after 11 miles, like last week, this is what I looked like after our run...
A bit dramatic but still, I was dead tired. (And yes, I made J take this photo. :)He hates me. bahaha )

Another fun photo for you - this is what happens when running in the city and someone walks in front of you right before a shoulder height street sign...even ripped J's shirt!
And this looks worse in person. Yuck.

Since I am traveling this weekend, I'll be conquering my 10k run in Charlotte, NC with my sister before we head south to Charleston for her bachelorette party! That being said, you can expect me to be MIA for the next few days until I get back and recover from the madness I'm sure will ensue.

Have a great weekend my friends!

Thursday, April 19, 2012

HM Training

That's right. J & I have decided to run a half-marathon. It's still crazy to think about really. Had you asked me this a few months ago, I would have said never. And even a month ago this wasn't totally on my radar.

So here's a the low-down on our half marathon. I warn you, it's a bit lengthy...

WHY?

Well, at the beginning of March I started to track my workouts. And by doing this, it really did motivate me to get to the gym more often. And the more I worked out, the better I felt. And the better I felt, the more I pushed myself. On the morning of my 26th birthday, I decided I needed to prove to myself that I wasn't getting any older and decided to push my normal 5 mile run to 6 miles. I felt sooooo good after - I think mostly from the accomplishment.

The following week I pushed myself to run 7 miles, and again, I was so shocked that I did it, but felt great! That is what really got me thinking about it. After a little research I landed on HalfMarathons.net. It's a pretty cool website where you can search for races by state and it gives a training schedule to follow. Although I was a little behind on the training schedule, it didn't deter me from considering a local race in mid-May. I'd catch up. :)


There's a funny thing about timing - sometimes it couldn't be more perfect. There is a local running shop, South Boston Running Emporium, that I decided my next pair of shoes would be purchased from. I've been running in a pair of Nike Frees for the past 11 months and it was high time I got myself a better pair of sneaks. Growing up we always bought our sports equipment from a small local shop for two reasons, better customer service and better knowledge on the equipment. It can be hard to find those small shops these days though (thanks Walmart) and so throughout college and into my post-college running career, I began hitting up whichever chain store I was near. And though I always asked about my arches, how I place weight on my feet, etc. I could never get a straight answer. So I stuck to my tried and true Asics (whom I still adore). But when purchasing new sneakers last spring, I got caught up in the Nike Free phenomenon. Disclaimer- I realize many people love these shoes, and I had many great runs in them myself. But they just are not the best pair of shoes for ME.

So with that, I made my way to the SBRE last week to support the local guy, and hopefully take advantage of his running knowledge. Back to my sentence regarding timing, the day I planned to visit the SBRE after work, Life of Blyss posted this blog post. And I found it SO interesting. According to the VDOT tables Alyssa discusses, using the pace I ran last year's Harpoon 5 miler at - 8:50 - I should be running my longer runs at a 10:45 pace. WHAT?!?!?!? Crazy talk. I'd been running around a 9 minute pace outside and just assumed that I should be running all my training runs at the pace I'm hoping to race at.


Well, after Bill (at SBRE) had me walk around his store without shoes on to study how I my feet shift weight on them, checked out my arches, and fitted me in a couple different pairs of sneaks to choose from, I asked him about this pace difference. And although he had not heard of Jack Daniels (whom Alyssa references), he agreed 100% with slowing down your long run pace. As he stated, your pace should be a minute and a half to 2 minutes slower than your race day pace. His formula went a little something like this: the terrible twos = too much + too fast. Your risk of injury greatly increases. (Disclaimer for Bill - please don't treat this as the Bible to training. Do what works for you).

NOW I know why my catch up run in Florida went horrible. :) Old shoes, the ridiculous wind I ran against for the first 3.5 miles, and a too fast of a pace. But, a new pair of sneakers and some running advice later, and I'm back on track.

The goods: Brooks Ravenna 3 for me & Brooks Adrenaline GTS 12 for J


Imagine my excitement when the shoes that fit me best were accented in PURPLE! :)

I have to say, slowing down our pace worked wonders for J & I. Oh, also, please note that J had not been running 7 miles at the gym for a couple of weeks before deciding to run with me. He simply turned to me after we both got fitted for our new sneaks and said, "well, it looks like I'm running a half-marathon." This seriously amazes me. Running is a terrible mental game for me. I can't imagine just deciding to run like that.

Anyways, back to our run. I mapped out 10 miles around our neighborhood, studied it the night before and the morning of to memorize it, and we set out on our slow run.

Pre-run jitters

I have to say, running a slower pace is hard work. I recommend timing your run, and being somewhat aware of the whereabouts of each mile in order to make sure you've kept a slower pace. It's far too easy to get in the zone mentally. We had to remind each other to slow down a few times. I think we were both so surprised to feel good after mile 6 that it was too easy to want to pick up the pace. Before we knew it, we were at mile 8 where we had placed a bottle of water in J's car, but decided not to stop and just finish strong. Our final time: 1:34.18, pace of 9:39 (total run of 9.77 miles)



So maybe it wasn't exactly a 10:45 pace...but it was still 40 seconds per mile slower than a normal run so I was extremely happy with that. And if you don't believe Jack Daniels or Bill at SBRE about running slower...check out this article from Runners World or read below. (or check it out here in a pretty diagram)


Measuring Your Effort
Train at the right pace to make sure you're race ready

Type of Run:
EASY RUN
Pace: 90-150 seconds per mile slower than 5-K pace
Heart Rate: 65-70% of max heart rate
Perceived Effort (1-10)*: 3-4 (easy)
Talk Test: You can speak complete sentences

LONG RUN
Pace: 90-150 seconds per mile slower than 5-K pace

Heart Rate: 65% of max heart rate
Perceived Effort (1-10): 3-4
Talk Test: You can speak complete sentences

MARATHON-PACE RUN
Pace: 45-100 seconds per mile slower than 5-K pace
Heart Rate: 88-92% of max heart rate
Perceived Effort (1-10): 5-6
Talk Test: You can speak short sentences

TEMPO RUN
Pace: 20-40 seconds per mile slower than 5-K pace
Heart Rate: 94-96% of max heart rate
Perceived Effort (1-10): 7-8(hard)
Talk Test: You can speak a few words at a time

SPEEDWORK (800s, 1200s)
Pace: 5-40 seconds per mile faster than 5-K pace
Heart Rate: 95-100% of max heart rate
Perceived Effort (1-10): 9 (very hard)
Talk Test: You...can't...talk...must...run...

*Perceived effort is measured according to the Borg Scale, with 1 being the minimum effort (sitting on the couch) and 10 being the maximum effort.

And how'd I look after?


Ready for more!  

(do you like our wedding invitation display on the wine fridge :)?)

WHERE & WHEN?

Gloucester, MA's Twin Lights Half-Marathon on May 12th. 

HOW?

We have been following the Hal Higdon Novice 2 training schedule with a few *tweaks*. But I am going to save that for next weeks Fitness post. This one is WAY too long already. 

Thursday, March 29, 2012

Motivation


In need of a little fitness motivation? Here are a few pictures I found on pinterest that seem to resonate with me. 

I seem to have more motivation this year to get in shape & stay in shape than I did the year of my own wedding! I'm serious. I don't know why, but knowing that I'll be sitting at the head table of 3 weddings this summer scares the crap out of me. And I'll be giving a speech at one as the Matron of Honor! Yikes! So with no big white dress to hide behind, I have been working my butt off. And I'm loving it though!

 Love this.

 
 This is the hardest thing to accept. I totally want instant results. Who doesn't?

 You better believe it!


And finally, a quote I read on SkinnyRunner:

"You don't get what you wish for, you get what you work for."

How is that for motivational?! Happy Thursday everyone! One day closer to the weekend!

Pictures via Pinterest.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Blogging tips