Showing posts with label fun. Show all posts
Showing posts with label fun. Show all posts

Friday, September 21, 2012

Fun Fact Friday

I don't really have much to say today. But boy am I glad it's Friday. Anyone else exhausted from this week? Let's recap shall we?

1. J & I refinanced our condo Monday (finally). Finally, is our fault too. Man is there a lot of paper work for a refi and between our recent vaca and just plain ole' being busy, it kind of took the back burner. Plus, I felt like I was re-buying our place at closing. Which, yes, technically we were but I did not expect to sign the same stack of papers we did at our original purchase. #handcrampage

2. And speaking of purchases, J&A closed on their first home this week (I shouldn't even say first, more like forever home)!! I am so excited for them. Their place is ah-mazing. Maybe when I get down to visit later this year I'll talk Jackie into a house crashing session a la Young House Love style. If you've never checked out that blog before sorry I'm not sorry you are now officially obsessed like the rest of us.

3. Tuesday night I had a group of friends over for dinner to catch up. We have friends in town for the week from Colorado and I figured, why go out to eat when I can cook and we can relax and catch up. The best part about this dinner? These are sets of friends who have truly become family. And every time we have the opportunity to see them I say the same thing to J, I really hope we can raise our children like they are raising theirs. I'm fairly certain that their 4 year old daughter has better manners than I do. And don't be fooled, raising a child with good manners takes hard work. I am in awe every.single.time.

4. This weekend I am heading home for my first big DIY project for our home. I have recruited my mom to help me on this one. I had a long conversation about home decor with my sister the other day and we both agreed that in hindsight, we now realize just how much my mom did for our home growing up.  She is so handy! And she certainly has a good eye for design too. I'm not revealing too much yet. Because if it fails miserably, I hope you forget about this measly little paragraph. And if it's a major success, you better believe it'll have its own post once it's done.

5. One of the best parts about going home now is letting Tucker run around like a mad man in the backyard. I really, really think he was depressed the last time we got back to the condo from being home. He has soo much freedom when we visit either sets of parents. And certainly acts like he's king of the yard every time (even if that includes digging a few holes...sorry mom). Maybe this is me justifying my obsession with real estate and my recent obsession with finding our next home. But maybe he really is depressed. Looks like I need to ramp up my house hunting.

6. Sunday I have some retail therapy with old roommates planned. I am in desperate need of this - shopping & girl time. I.can't.wait. I may or may not have made myself a little shopping list of what I wanted...at least we're hitting the outlets!

And I thought I didn't have much to say...whoops. Don't think I named this blog Talkative for nothing. Have a fun weekend!

Friday, July 27, 2012

Fun Fact Friday

It's been a while since I did one of these!

Just a few fun facts to start off the weekend. (And because I don't have many new photos to share...)

1. The Olympics "officially" start tonight!!!!! I use the term officially lightly since they've technically already started (wtf?!) and I came across womens synchronized diving the other night. What's your favorite sport to watch? Mine is easily women's gymnastics.

2. Tonight I went wedding dress shopping with two close friends followed by dinner & drinks. It was so great to catch up. When we said goodbye, I loved that I only needed to walk a couple blocks to the bus stop to get me home. And as much as I loved that, it oddly made me sad tonight... Knowing that at some point, I will not be living in the city anymore. It won't happen tomorrow, but it will happen in the next couple years. Lately, it has really hit home just how much I love where we currently live - and how much I take for granted being able to walk to the grocery store, post office, bank, coffee shop, bar, etc. 

On a happier note, when I got home I had some pretty great news in the mail....which totally caught me by surprise...



3. I am officially a CPA!!! Even though I passed the exams 3 years ago, I still needed to finish my masters degree. And working full-time definitely delayed that process.... (and thank you MacBook for your easy editing tools. I left the Tracey L. C so you can see that I am not lying in my blog name, the initials really are TLC. And yes, you can be jealous.)

4. This weekend I NEED to go pick up my car. You see, I dropped it off for service last weekend with the intentions of picking it up....and then I just did NOT feel like going to get it. Parking is a nightmare Sunday nights, so why bother? I've been carless for a week and haven't even minded. Definitely something to think about.... honestly, who am I kidding, I can't imagine really being carless but it has been nice not to worry about what side of the street my car is parked on for street cleaning days. Since it's so old that there's no car payment on it, it doesn't really matter. If I was paying for it, that'd be another story.

5. J's birthday is next Sunday. Yikes! Gotta finish up the birthday shopping this weekend. I think there's another big event next Sunday but it seems to be slipping my mind right now. ;)

6. I think I'd like to go golfing this weekend if there's time. I gotta go test out the new golf outfit! I'm really hoping I play as well as I did last time we played because I had so much fun. Otherwise, I'm afraid I'll hate the sport again. I am not good at just enjoying myself when I'm not playing a sport well. Who is really? 

7. I tried really hard not to spend $$ on dinners this week on nights we were home. It always amazes me what we're able to cook up when there is "nothing to eat in the house." Tuesday night was a late dinner since I decided to go running but was still delicious nevertheless! Oatmeal with coconut flakes, almond butter, dry roasted peanuts, chocolate chips, and almond milk. Guess it was more like dinner/dessert in one but no biggie. I certainly didn't mind! 

Wednesday was quinoa in veg. stock with onion, garlic, frozen spinach, green beans, tomato paste, and parmesan cheese. So good! Dessert of dry oats rolled in almond butter and coconut flakes, chocolate chips, more coconut flakes, peanut butter, and almond milk. And to think we had nothing to eat?!! 

This is our last weekend for a little while with close to no plans. It sure has been nice to relax. But I'm ready for the next few big weekends. They involve A LOT of family and friends and I cannot wait. More details to come, don't you worry. :)

But for now, have a fabulous weekend friends!


Tuesday, March 13, 2012

Sunday Funday

This past Sunday, the weather here in Boston was amazing. It was even better Monday! Like I've said before, Spring is on its way! :)

A couple friends suggested hitting the fields in South Boston for some soccer and field hockey. I'm not going to lie, I wanted to skip the athletics and head straight to the bar for some Sunday Funday drinks! What? I'm still getting used to not having to worry about my work schedule on Sundays or making sure all my client charge time is in before 9pm. 

Anyways, to the fields we went. And before I knew it, we had decided to play 2v2 soccer with a basketball, on the pavement of an enclosed hockey court (court?). Ya, my shins were a bit sore Monday. As fun as it was, I was dying. Certainly didn't make any of the morning workouts I've been doing seem worth it! But my competitive spirit certainly helped as my team won (obviously). J & I chose to be on separate teams. We're both too competitive to play on the same team. ha. We've learned that over the years! Oh, and he says he "let" us win. ha ha ha. :)

We headed back to our condo to rehydrate & relax for a bit. The boys played a few video games and we hung out. Tuck even got in on the fun. This photo cracks me up, he is so serious when he watches TV.


But he soon realized he'd rather snuggle with me than watch video games (obviously)...


He is just adorbs. :)

Ok, so once the boys lost at FIFA enough to get frustrated, we headed out for dinner & drinks. I had picked up a cute new pair of flats Saturday while shopping with my mother-in-law and decided to wear them to dinner. I was told by a girl at the bar that they were the perfect Sunday Funday shoes. HA! What do you think?


The bar we chose for dinner has 50% off all food, all the time. I know, why don't think just change the prices on the menu?? I have no idea. But when the $10 burger is actually $5, I'll take it!

And, added bonus.....there was a charity event going on. J donated $5 to the V Foundation for Cancer to toss 7 ping pong balls towards the end of a beer pong table. Each cup had a different prize ranging from a bottle opener, to a free beer, to the beer pong table itself! Before I knew it, J had won a free beer and a forearm sweatband. Annnd the table! Or so we thought....turns out, he won a CHANCE at the table. Bummer. 


As it turns out, only 4 people won chances at the table, including J's friend Kevin. And they decided why not have the 4 guys compete for it. Most accurate shots wins.

Sorry about the quality of the photos, I chose not to use a flash so that I wouldn't distract the guys.



And the winner is....




Snapped this one quick with my phone, J was embarrassed. Ha. But, hey, now we have a portable beer pong table just in time for the South Boston St. Patty's Day festivities this weekend!

Oh, and tomorrow I'm planning on sharing a delicious & healthy dinner option! :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Blogging tips